Book Review: Alfie the Doorstep Cat

23019127

Author: Rachel Wells
Release date: November 1st 2014
Dates read: August 22nd – 24th 2016
Book format: Hardback
Star rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Synopsis on Goodreads

For all fans of A Street Cat Named Bob, this is the only book to find in your stocking this Christmas. Can a pet really change your life? Alfie is homeless, abandoned after his elderly owner passes away. But when he stumbles on to Edgar Road, Alfie knows he’s found his new home. However, the street’s residents don’t agree – the last thing they need is another stray cat, and he is shooed away from many doorsteps. But as life throws its worst at the residents of Edgar Road, they soon realise how much they all need Alfie – a cat who brings hope to the darkest times, and who will always be a friend to those in need. Heart-warming and uplifting, Alfie the Doorstep Cat is the perfect read for fans of ‘A Street Cat Named Bob’ and ‘Solomon’s Tale’.

~

I remember when i picked this book up at the store and my dad told me ‘You really are a crazy cat lady if you’re picking up books about cats’. Iadmit, i am but since i can’t have any more cats of my own – because really i already have 8 – i thought i can read stories on them and that’s good enough for me.

Now i will admit that i was sceptical about this book, i wasn’t sure which perspective this was going to come from and i try to refrain myself from flicking through books before i read them. (I made that mistake with the 10th Aniversary of Twilight and i spoilt the book AND i still haven’t read it yet…go me). I was plesantly surprised with this, not only was it well written – honestly finding a good, well written book that the store were selling for £1 is a gem! – but it was written from the perspective of Alfie, the lovely titular cat.

This book has given me a new grown fondness for cats, especially the ‘doorstep cats’. It made me wonder (but it’s not like i haven’t already) what my own cats are thinking and how they may perceive me and their home. It’s made me love them even more and the book even brought a tear to my eye but lets be real, anything to do with cats will.

I recommend that people definitely pick this book up, it may seem like a poor received book from the outside, but it is truely one of the realist books i have read, specifially with the situations of the many different people that are portrayed in this book.

Alfie the Doorstep Cat is a treasure and i hope other people find it as enjoyable and a treasure like i did.

 

One thought on “Book Review: Alfie the Doorstep Cat

Add yours

  1. Hey, lovely reviews 🙂 and a great blog. I have nominated you to do the mystery blog award. If you would like to do it please read my blog to see what 5 questions I have given you. I have nominated the first ten people who followed my blog. Thank you very much for being awesome 😀

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Hannah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews For Story Lovers

It's Raining Cats and Paperbacks

Come to the Cosy Corner...we have Tea, Cats, Books and more!

Flavia the Bibliophile

A blog about books, TV, movies, makeup, and travel!

Bookish Girl in a Boring World

Books, because fiction is more appealing.

Reading with My Eyes

lots of tales from the spine, your place for book reviews of all kinds

Crows and Dreamers

A book and writing blog by Sanja

Rachel The Bookworm

Book Reviews For The Educated Masses

Kitty Marie's Reading Corner

book blogger & reviewer

Fiction Wicks

Bookish candles

Books y Gel

The Perfect Combination

Susanne Valenti

Author of all things Romance

The Scribbling Existentialist

"I exist, that is all, and I find it nauseating."

Sarah's Bookshelf

Books are the mirrors of the soul.

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

HappyBibliosaurus

The Adventures of a Bibliosaurus

SIUQUXEBOOKS

Book Recommendations, Inspiration, Writing, Books, Blogging and Social Issues

NerdiGirlBooks

Happiness is found in the pages of a great book!

What's She Reading?

Because the only thing better than reading is more reading.

MadLit

Follow my epic journey of reading books and talking about them on the internet.

bibliophoenix

Just another WordPress.com site

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Pretty Books

One girl's adventures in books, life and travel

Head in the Clouds, Heart in the Books

Dreaming and reading through life

Anne-thology of Books

An artist learning the art of blogging book reviews

Elle Hache

The personal blog of Lucy Hutchon

xingsings

a blog about books and other obsessions

Turning The Faucet On.

You've Got To Start Somewhere.

Books That Love You Back

"Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing." - Harper Lee, To Kill A Mockingbird

Avid Reader

Follow the Entertainment

LITERARY TITAN

Connecting Authors and Readers

Other Sashas

a commonplace journal

Book In A Nook

"to drown in words is a noble way of living"

Book Snacks

For Book-Hungry Readers

The Book Venom

Just one more chapter . . .