Book Review: Alfie the Doorstep Cat

23019127

Author: Rachel Wells
Release date: November 1st 2014
Dates read: August 22nd – 24th 2016
Book format: Hardback
Star rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Synopsis on Goodreads

For all fans of A Street Cat Named Bob, this is the only book to find in your stocking this Christmas. Can a pet really change your life? Alfie is homeless, abandoned after his elderly owner passes away. But when he stumbles on to Edgar Road, Alfie knows he’s found his new home. However, the street’s residents don’t agree – the last thing they need is another stray cat, and he is shooed away from many doorsteps. But as life throws its worst at the residents of Edgar Road, they soon realise how much they all need Alfie – a cat who brings hope to the darkest times, and who will always be a friend to those in need. Heart-warming and uplifting, Alfie the Doorstep Cat is the perfect read for fans of ‘A Street Cat Named Bob’ and ‘Solomon’s Tale’.

~

I remember when i picked this book up at the store and my dad told me ‘You really are a crazy cat lady if you’re picking up books about cats’. Iadmit, i am but since i can’t have any more cats of my own – because really i already have 8 – i thought i can read stories on them and that’s good enough for me.

Now i will admit that i was sceptical about this book, i wasn’t sure which perspective this was going to come from and i try to refrain myself from flicking through books before i read them. (I made that mistake with the 10th Aniversary of Twilight and i spoilt the book AND i still haven’t read it yet…go me). I was plesantly surprised with this, not only was it well written – honestly finding a good, well written book that the store were selling for £1 is a gem! – but it was written from the perspective of Alfie, the lovely titular cat.

This book has given me a new grown fondness for cats, especially the ‘doorstep cats’. It made me wonder (but it’s not like i haven’t already) what my own cats are thinking and how they may perceive me and their home. It’s made me love them even more and the book even brought a tear to my eye but lets be real, anything to do with cats will.

I recommend that people definitely pick this book up, it may seem like a poor received book from the outside, but it is truely one of the realist books i have read, specifially with the situations of the many different people that are portrayed in this book.

Alfie the Doorstep Cat is a treasure and i hope other people find it as enjoyable and a treasure like i did.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s